Read The Forum Rules: We have a clear set of rules to keep the forum running smoothly. Click here to review them.

Anyone taken a financial step back to set up a new career?
nek Offline
Alpha Male

Anyone taken a financial step back to set up a new career?
I have a civil engineering degree but I've been working in tech. sales for quite some time. I've basically topped out and would like to get back into actual engineering, but since I haven't been using my degree (no design work, not using engineering software, etc.) I don't see how I could qualify for anything other than an entry level position (lower salary for sure). Has anyone made a transition like this before? What are the odds I'll be able to actually pull this off?

PS I passed the E.I.T. exam but I can't take the PE exam since I haven't been working under any PEs (not that I think I'd be able to pass it at this time).

Civilize the mind but make savage the body.
01-14-2018 12:11 AM
Find all posts by this user Like Post Quote this message in a reply
Laner Offline
True Player
Gold Member

RE: Anyone taken a financial step back to set up a new career?
Yes, but not in the same way you are describing.

When I started my first business and it came to a point where I needed to quit my day job to focus on my own. It was a huge pay cut for at least a year or so.

After a failed business in 2013 I had to go back to my old trade to stay afloat. The money was good but the whole time I was focusing on my next step. So when it came time to jump back into business for myself in 2016 it was, again, a massive pay cut. I took another slash in earnings last June when I took on partners and we bought out our pub-co VCers. Still struggling but I know from previous experience it does not last forever.
01-14-2018 12:40 AM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Like Post Quote this message in a reply
nek Offline
Alpha Male

(01-14-2018 12:40 AM)Laner Wrote:  Yes, but not in the same way you are describing.