I'm Touring The United States! Starting in June, I'm conducting private events in 23 American cities. Click here for full details.

Vaccine Datasheet
Lampwick Offline
Recovering Beta
Gold Member

Vaccine Datasheet
Overview

Many of us travel around the world, and can have higher exposure to various diseases. When I attempted to get a better handle on my vaccinations, I found it cumbersome to collect all relevant information in a concise form, so I created this datasheet.

This information generally applies to straight men who are in good health. Vaccines can take weeks to take effect, so plan on getting them well in advance of any trip. You can get usually get multiple vaccines at the same time. I have no medical background, so talk to a doctor for advice. Vaccine information changes regularly for a variety of reasons.

In the U.S., insurance companies may treat vaccines that are taken for routine preventative reasons differently than vaccines taken for travel purposes. For this reason, it may make financial sense to get vaccines in a hospital rather than a travel clinic, for example. My advice would be to call your insurance company to see which vaccines they will cover, and at which type of provider. For vaccines that they do not cover, shop around for the best cash price.

Keeping track of the vaccines you've taken can be challenging because medical records can sometimes be hard to locate or get copies of. You can keep track of your vaccines on your own using something like Evernote or Todoist.

When planning a trip somewhere, it's a good idea to check the CDC site for vaccine recommendations for that particular country:

CDC Destinations

Here is also an interesting site that talks about the types of vaccines:

Types of Vaccines

Routine Vaccinations

Chickenpox (Varicella)

Transmission: Person-to-person contact
Vaccine type: Live, attenuated
Administration: Two injections
Protection: Lifetime