I'm Touring The United States! Starting in June, I'm conducting private events in 23 American cities. Click here for full details.

Learning Languages Through Your Second Language
whitewashedblackguy Offline
Beta Orbiter

Learning Languages Through Your Second Language
So I want to learn a few different languages: I'm learning Spanish, next is French, then it's Portuguese, then Korean. That's a lot. But what I'm wondering is, is it possible to learn your third language through your second, and so on and so on. Does anyone have experience with this? What languages have yall learned like this? I would love to hear about it.
07-09-2019 01:34 PM
Find all posts by this user Like Post Quote this message in a reply
Seth_Rose Offline
Alpha Male
Gold Member

RE: Learning Languages Through Your Second Language
Sure, learning one Romance language for example will lend itself to others. I'm studying Romanian, and having studied Spanish and Russian I feel like I have a pretty good base.

What are your goals though? What level do you want to achieve with these languages (e.g. A2, C1 etc.)

I wouldn't get too far ahead of yourself planning to learn 5 languages. If you have a strong desire to learn Romance languages, that would make sense.

Blog - Twitter
07-09-2019 02:47 PM
[-] The following 1 user Likes Seth_Rose's post:
whitewashedblackguy
scotian Offline
Innovative Casanova
Gold Member

Being fluent in French helped me learn Spanish a lot because of the similarities in grammar structure with Latin languages, there’s lots of similar words too so picking up vocabulary was easier to. My advice is to focus on one language at a time, I suggest Spanish.

God damned them all, I was told we'd cruise the seas for American gold, we'd fire no guns-shed no tears, now I'm a broken man on a Halifax pier, the last of Barrett's privateers!
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZIwzRkjn86w
07-09-2019 02:48 PM
[-] The following 1 user Likes scotian's post:
whitewashedblackguy
Beta Orbiter