I'm Touring The United States! Starting in June, I'm conducting private events in 23 American cities. Click here for full details.

Gimme the scoop on cultural diversity & white privilege
Solitaire Offline
Robin

Gimme the scoop on cultural diversity & white privilege
So as some of you know already, I'm a nurse, and my specialty is psych. I've been doing this for 25+ years now. I recently relocated, back to my adopted hometown (in the Northwest FLA area), and just started at a new hospital. I'm in the orientation phase of this new job, which means sitting through hours & days of fire safety, where's the pharmacy, etc etc etc.

On last week Thursday, I began to sit through a presentation by a local African American pastor who has been teaching various classes for the last 30 years, apparently (according to him, at least). His talk was about cultural diversity, which is a big thing nowadays. I had to endure a few lectures about the subject over in California.

As he talked, my mind wandered a bit. I looked ahead at the presentation, thanks to a printout of the PowerPoint slides. There was about six introductory slides, asking pat questions like, "What do you feel your level of cultural understanding is?" When I turned to the following pages, there were no less than a dozen slides about "White Privilege," which set of alarm bells in my head - so this is where this fellow is going with this, after all... (I actually left the lecture, and gave an excuse about feeling ill, which was kinda true.)

What I'm asking for here is: give me some talking points that counter this narrative that's basically taking over academia and now, yes I know it's scary to say, but this craziness is infecting workplace environments such as hospitals. My buddy said something along the lines of "this is attempting to fight racism with racism."

Anyone out there that can expand on this for me?
09-22-2019 02:01 PM
Find all posts by this user Like Post Quote this message in a reply