I'm Touring The United States! Starting in June, I'm conducting private events in 23 American cities. Click here for full details.

Changing career in your 30s
flyinghorse Offline
Woodpecker

Changing career in your 30s
Has anyone here successfully transitioned career in their 30s?

I've been working in education for the past three years but my passion for the job has really dried up this last year. Teaching is not exactly a high paying job so if there is no passion it makes it much easier to walk away.

The rough plan is to retrain in digital marketing with a focus on SEO (although I have a lot to learn). My contract as a teacher lasts until July 2020 so this gives me around 8 or 9 months to learn from almost scratch* enough to make a living in marketing.

*I have experience in sales and in journalism as I did these as part time gigs while at university
11-06-2019 08:40 AM
Find all posts by this user Like Post Quote this message in a reply
rpg Offline
Ostrich
Silver Member

RE: Changing career in your 30s
(11-06-2019 08:40 AM)flyinghorse Wrote:  Has anyone here successfully transitioned career in their 30s?

I've been working in education for the past three years but my passion for the job has really dried up this last year. Teaching is not exactly a high paying job so if there is no passion it makes it much easier to walk away.

The rough plan is to retrain in digital marketing with a focus on SEO (although I have a lot to learn). My contract as a teacher lasts until July 2020 so this gives me around 8 or 9 months to learn from almost scratch* enough to make a living in marketing.

*I have experience in sales and in journalism as I did these as part time gigs while at university

3 years is nothing. Change schools.
11-06-2019 08:46 AM
[-] The following 1 user Likes rpg's post:
Syberpunk
Easy_C Offline
Crow

(11-06-2019 08:40 AM)flyinghorse Wrote:  Has anyone here successfully transitioned career in their 30s?

PM me. It may be easier than you think.