Chrismated into the church, what to expect now ?

I just got Chismated into the Orthodox Church today, What are my next steps ?

I've been assigned a Godfather by my priest to help guide me along the way, but I want to advance myself in my Orthodoxy and my spiritual development as much as I can.

My Godfather bestowed upon me an icon of Jesus Christ, a prayer book, a prayer rope and an Orthodox Study bible today, and I want to make sure i can glean from both as much as i can.

The priest also gifted me an orthodox cross.

@MichaelWitcoff @Roosh any input is welcome from you guys. @DanielH fill me in on some of ur knowledge as well sir, heck...calling all orthodox brethren to answer :)

Note: I can't really read as i'm a truck driver so if you could suggest some Audio books that i could listen to of the above listed (prayer and orthodox study bible) that'd be much appreciated.

Last edited:

Amwolf

Robin
Woman
Read, read, and continue to read. As a recent convert myself who had guidance from some of the best in Orthodoxy, I suggest that you read the following books (in no particular order): The Life in Christ, The Path to Salvation, Living Tradition, How to Live a Holy Life, Journey to Heaven, On The Prayer of Jesus (this is a difficult book to obtain as it's no longer available, but make certain that you get the 1995 edition), The Sunflower, The Struggle for Virtue, Healing the Soul: Saint Porphyrious of Kafsokalyvia as a Model for Our Lives, and Orthodoxy and the Religion of the Future.

Amwolf

Robin
Woman
Audiobooks of those you could find or suggest ?