Datasheet: Financial Habits for Single Guys

Why bother learning good financial habits?
Taking care of your finances makes life less stressful. If you have a decent-sized pile of money saved up, emergencies become way less frequent, you feel less inclined to put up with bad working environments, and you are in a position to help people around you. Your insurance won’t shell out to fix your car? No problem. You lose your job and can’t immediately find a new one? No problem. Want to buy a motorcycle? No problem.

If you have money, you don’t have to worry about it. And even Christ didn’t want us wasting our lives worrying about money. It takes about three months to build the habits and get on the right track.

What should anyone listen to you?
I’m by no means an expert, but I’ve done decently and I’ve learned from my own and my friends’ mistakes. I’ve been supporting myself since I was 18. Started with a couple thousand in the bank from summer jobs and a used car that I still drive. Between my bank accounts and investments, I had over $100k before my 23rd birthday, despite living in supposedly expensive places on moderate wages.

What are the basic steps?
1. Do not spend money you do not have.
This means no taking out a home loan, no buying new toys on credit, no going into debt for a degree. If you can’t pay cash for it, you don’t buy it. If you use a credit card, pay it off at the end of each billing cycle.

2. Track every penny you spend.
This might be the most important step.