Facing own mortality while new to faith

Rob Banks

Pelican
I’m not sure if this is in the right subforum. Mods, please move if necessary.

I am hospitalized for serious medical symptoms. I have had some symptoms since last September but the last few weeks, and especially the last few days, have been very bad. I’m not sure this is the right place to go into specifics about symptoms, but it’s gone from mild to very severe in mere days. My doctors have no idea what’s causing it and I’m worried about my life.

I’ve had pets who have been sick, and when their symptoms get worse like this (i.e. they lose weight, stop eating, can’t keep food down) they are dead within days.

As I have discussed on the forum, I am new to Christianity after having lived a life of drug abuse and other bad things.

I lost my wife (who means everything to me) and I’m fighting to get her back. I just recently started communicating with her again after almost a year of not talking. She still has deep resentment for me and only communicates with me in writing.

My family (aside from my sister) also hates me. My mom and dad resent me deeply, and my extended family has nothing to do with me.

All of this hatred and resentment is deserved. Until recently, although I never intended to hurt anyone, I was a very selfish person who nevertheless hurt those around me.

My family and my wife think I am bullshitting about being sick, because that it is the sort of thing I would have done in the past.

I am new to Christianity and I have not been baptized yet.

Lying in my hospital bed, I started to despair thinking that I might die like this. In a hospital bed, alone, with everyone I care about thinking that I’m bullshitting and looking for attention. Also, I will go to hell because I still struggle with sin and I am not baptized.