IT Jobs

Not sure if there's already a thread for this, but I'd like discuss IT jobs ITT. Everything from basic Help Desk/IT support, to Cybersecurity, to Programmer/Software Engineer or Network Admin stuff.

I'm thinking of picking up some professional certs and attempting to get into Cybersecurity. Is it a good field overall, and difficult to be outsourced unlike software engineer and programming jobs? I'm currently thoroughly researching, and weighing the pros and cons of security analyst etc vs software engineer.

And for anyone in the know, how are job prospects in the security field? Is it already saturated or still good?

GT3RS

I'm currently a recent graduate with a Bachelor's in Cybersecurity.

I'll say this, right now the US job market is slowly picking back up from what was a complete shit show. Cybersecurity is highly over-saturated at the entry level. The entry level jobs are things like SOC Analysts, who are looking for threats, trends and monitoring systems. It really depends on what kind of job you want to get in Security. SOC Analyst is one of the better entry postions. There is also things like threat assessment, pentesting, DevOps and development, Systems Admin... Security is a big field.

Personally, I think the IT in the bubble in the US has already just popped. They now push shit like "Learn to code" and "Girl who code" to everyone and his dog right now. I would recommend you start applying for internships yourself and see how you fare. The truth is, as a white male, you are going to be treated like absolute shite and I hate to say it, but some woman will take your place.

Look at Equifax. The CISO (Chief Information Security Officer) was a fat woman with a Bachelors and Masters degree in Music composition.