Marijuana

The Beast1

Peacock
Orthodox Inquirer
Gold Member
Thanks to rampant inflation doubling my monthly expenditures, I have had to give up my favorite inebriant: marijuana.
I've been smoking marijuana consistently for several years since 2007 with maybe a month break here and there (that's being generous).
I preferred it over alcohol, which I had long given up as a horrible curse which ages and destroys the body. I always wondered how alcoholics came to be, because anytime I would drink, the hangover would last multiple days. Hair of the dog just made it worse.

Any who, now that inflation has made me re-allocate my budget and eliminate the otherwise wonderful plant, I was going through the pangs of withdrawal.
For the curious, marijuana is insidious with its withdrawal pangs. It messes with your appetite, ability to sleep, and the cravings, man the cravings. I used to be a cigarette smoker in college, quitting that was easy compared to pot. I could put down cigs, power through the 3-4 days of nicotine anger, and be good to go.

Pot on the other hand, ugh. Much worse getting through days 2-4 is the worst.

I'm about week and a half in. Thankfully, this has been a much better detox experience for me. I recently discovered that Unisom Sleep Tablets (doxylamine version) utterly blows the withdrawal insomnia out of the water. I was able to have restorative sleep which has had significant knock on effects in regards to appetite and general mood. I have a pill cutter which I use to reduce the dosage down. Day 1 is always the easiest, I never have issues here. But by day 2, I took a full pill. Day 3 half a pill, 4, quarter, 5 quarter, and 6 none.