Orthodox Baptism

Siskin

Chicken
Woman
Orthodox
I have been studying orthodoxy for a few years now, and have decided to seek baptism in the orthodox church ( I have never been baptised into any faith ). I am not a member of the orthodox church, I live in a rural area and due to this as well as 2 years of lockdowns, seeking an orthodox church has been problematic at best. I have finally made contact with a priest in a small church a couple of hours drive from me, and I'm trying to get information about the process of catechesis, baptism and chrismation. But I have had no solid information regarding what is the actual process? How long does it take? Does orthodox baptism still occur only once per year? What do I have to do? Is it about, say, attending liturgies regularly for 6 months? Passing some sort of knowledge or faith tests? I may sound incredibly naïve, and maybe I am, but I really have no idea what to expect. I was raised strictly without religion all of my life, and have only found my way to Christ in my later years. I could use some guidance! I know that when I arrange to meet with the priest I can ask about all of this, but I would like to know sooner rather than later, if at all possible! Thanks in advance.

DanielH

Ostrich
Orthodox
I have been studying orthodoxy for a few years now, and have decided to seek baptism in the orthodox church ( I have never been baptised into any faith ). I am not a member of the orthodox church, I live in a rural area and due to this as well as 2 years of lockdowns, seeking an orthodox church has been problematic at best. I have finally made contact with a priest in a small church a couple of hours drive from me, and I'm trying to get information about the process of catechesis, baptism and chrismation. But I have had no solid information regarding what is the actual process? How long does it take?