Prayers for Departed

Don Quixote

Kingfisher
Orthodox Inquirer
I posted before about the question of the possibility of salvation without Baptism. I know the Orthodox Church has rituals and prayers for the departed. Can one ask the Orthodox Church to say a prayer for departed souls who may not be Orthodox or even Christian, for that matter, or is that forbidden? I would like to say some prayers for family members and would like the Orthodox Church to do so.

I am not technically Orthodox yet, but I believe it is the true church and it has made the most sense to me. I just haven't joined one officially yet.

Don Quixote

Kingfisher
Orthodox Inquirer
The reason I brought this up was that I remember listening to Father Spyridon on the topic. The way I understood him, a prayer for the dead can actually have an impact on the salvation of the soul of one recently departed. I don't understand it to be honest, but I feel I have to say these prayers––or if possible, I hope to ask an Orthodox priest if he can do so despite not being a member of the church yet––for deceased family members. There is some kind of state of the soul when it departs the body. The idea of toll-houses and such comes up here. As does distinction between "particular" judgment and "final" judgment. I think that's when the prayers from the living come into play. But I would defer to someone with more knowledge on the topic.

Sol Invictus

Sparrow
Orthodox Catechumen
Interesting fact: Mormons can retroactively baptize the dead. Many living Mormons go through their family tree to see who has not been baptized in Mormonism, and then will do it for them.
Yup, my mother converted to Mormonism some years ago, and has undergone her "temple work" for baptizing past relatives. I've kindly asked her not to bother doing it for me should I somehow pass away before her.

kel

Ostrich