The Retorts (good comebacks) thread

Some of the best responses mightn't often sound that witty when put on paper, but yet you'll know in yourself when you that you handled a given situation very well.

It could be someone trying to bait you. You know how bad a situation could be if you take the bait to a certain type of question! For example, I remember seeing Jacob Rees-Mogg once getting asked by a presenter "would you describe yourself as a man of principle?"... obviously with the intention of trapping him with some follow up question. Rees-Mogg's response: "others will describe me as they see fit". Something like that, although there's no great drama to it, can actually take more sharpness than you'd think. Another example of the same thing; Ben Shapiro tries to out smart some British journalist by asking "are you an objective journalist, or an opinion journalist". The response given was "I'm a journalist that asks questions"!

What quick witted responses have you witnessed in your time? I'd like to hear them. Whether it's something you said yourself (or something that you should have said!), or something you witnessed a friend say, then share it. If it has to be something from TV, then so be it. But preverably tell me about a time in your life. Some of the best retorts wouldn't seem that good if the context of the situation and history between the people wasn't explained, so give the story too.

E.g 1. Another example of mine. There's 5 of us eating at the family table and it's pretty silent. I've had bad looking pimple on my face for a few days. My sister had previously been going on about it, and this time she says "gee, that pimple looks pretty bad, John". I responded by saying "thanks for noticing"! My father starts laughing.